Print

Lay Description

This randomized phase III trial studies docetaxel, carboplatin, trastuzumab, and pertuzumab with estrogen deprivation to see how they work compared to docetaxel, carboplatin, trastuzumab, and pertuzumab without estrogen deprivation in treating patients with hormone receptor-positive, human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2)-positive breast cancer that is operable or has spread from where it started to nearby tissue or lymph nodes (locally advanced). Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel, carboplatin, trastuzumab, and pertuzumab, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Estrogen can cause the growth of breast cancer cells. Hormone therapy using goserelin acetate and aromatase inhibition therapy may fight breast cancer by blocking the use of estrogen by the tumor cells. Radiation therapy uses high energy x rays to kill tumor cells. Giving combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy with or without hormone therapy may be an effective treatment for hormone receptor-positive, HER2-positive, operable or locally advanced breast cancer.

Category

  • Cancers and Other Neoplasms
IRB Number
20140202HU
NCT Number
NCT02003209
Open to Enrollment
Yes

Eligibility

Eligible Ages
Over 18 Years
Eligible Genders
Female
Accepts Healthy Volunteers
No

Inclusion Criteria

Exclusion Criteria

Study Design

Arm Groups

Study Contact


Regulatory Point of Contact
Frances Crawford
(210) 450-5037
crawfordf1@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Sonia Creighton
(210) 450-1366
creighton@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Kate Lathrop
2104501420
lathrop@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Myrna Montenegro
(210) 450-5954
montenegro@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Mailbox Ctrc Regulatory Affairs
regaffapp@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Regulatory Staff
regaffstaff@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Kathleen Rodriguez
(210) 450-1365
rodriguezk3@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Benjamin Schleif
(210) 450-1366
schleifb@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Morgan Seekatz
(210) 450-1133
seekatz@uthscsa.edu

Principal Investigator
Kate Lathrop