Print

Lay Description

This randomized phase III trial studies bortezomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone to see how well they work compared to carfilzomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone in treating patients with newly diagnosed multiple myeloma. Bortezomib and carfilzomib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Lenalidomide may help the immune system kill abnormal blood cells or cancer cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as dexamethasone, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. It is not yet known whether bortezomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone are more or less effective than carfilzomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone in treating patients with multiple myeloma

Category

IRB Number
20150407HU
NCT Number
NCT01863550
Open to Enrollment
No

Eligibility

Eligible Ages
Over 18 Years
Eligible Genders
All
Accepts Healthy Volunteers
No

Inclusion Criteria

Exclusion Criteria

Study Design

Arm Groups

Study Contact


Matthew Butler
(210) 203-8047
ButlerMJ@uthscsa.edu

Frances Crawford
(210) 450-5037
crawfordf1@uthscsa.edu

Sonia Creighton
(210) 450-1366
creighton@uthscsa.edu

Myrna Montenegro
(210) 450-5954
montenegro@uthscsa.edu

Courtney Nichols
(210) 450-1794
nicholsc2@uthscsa.edu

Mailbox Ctrc Regulatory Affairs
regaffapp@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Staff
regaffstaff@uthscsa.edu

Kathleen Rodriguez
(210) 450-1365
rodriguezk3@uthscsa.edu

Benjamin Schleif
(210) 450-1366
schleifb@uthscsa.edu

Morgan Seekatz
(210) 450-1133
seekatz@uthscsa.edu

Principal Investigator
Matthew Butler