Print

Lay Description

This phase III trial compares nephrectomy (surgery to remove a kidney or part of a kidney) with nivolumab to the usual approach of nephrectomy followed by standard post-operative follow-up and monitoring, in treating patients with kidney cancer that is limited to a certain part of the body (localized). Nivolumab is a drug that may help stimulate the immune system to attack any cancer cells that may remain after surgery. The addition of nivolumab to the usual surgery could prevent the cancer from returning. It is not yet known whether nivolumab and nephrectomy is more effective than nephrectomy alone in treating patients with kidney cancer.

Category

  • Urinary Tract and Kidney
  • Kidney
IRB Number
20170129HU
NCT Number
NCT03055013
Open to Enrollment
Yes

Eligibility

Eligible Ages
Over 18 Years
Eligible Genders
All
Accepts Healthy Volunteers
No

Inclusion Criteria

Exclusion Criteria

Study Design

Arm Groups

Study Contact


Regulatory Point of Contact
Frances Crawford
(210) 450-5037
crawfordf1@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Sonia Creighton
(210) 450-1366
creighton@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Michael Liss
(210) 567-0046
liss@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Myrna Montenegro
(210) 450-5954
montenegro@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Mailbox Ctrc Regulatory Affairs
regaffapp@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Regulatory Staff
regaffstaff@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Kathleen Rodriguez
(210) 450-1365
rodriguezk3@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Benjamin Schleif
(210) 450-1366
schleifb@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Morgan Seekatz
(210) 450-1133
seekatz@uthscsa.edu

Principal Investigator
Michael Liss