Print

Lay Description

To determine rate and severity of chemotherapy induced neuropathy in extremities treated with cold gloves and socks versus control extremities

Category

  • Nervous System
  • Cancers and Other Neoplasms
  • Breast
IRB Number
20170535HU
NCT Number
NCT03329131
Open to Enrollment
Yes

Eligibility

Eligible Ages
Over 18 Years
Eligible Genders
All
Accepts Healthy Volunteers
No

Inclusion Criteria

  • Histologically confirmed diagnosis of early stage breast cancer (stage I-III).
  • Planned to receive treatment with either adjuvant or neo-adjuvant taxane-based chemotherapy.
  • Age > 18 years. There is no upper age limit for participation in this study.
  • Patients may have received any of the following therapies: surgery, chemotherapy, hormones, biologics, or radiation.
  • Prior chemotherapies are permitted, except with prior treatments with taxanes, vinca alcaloids, gemcitabine, eribulin, ixabepilone, platinum drugs)
  • All patients will have given signed, informed consent prior to registration
  • Patients must have a performance status of ECOG 0 or 1.

Exclusion Criteria

  • Patients must not have received any prior taxane or platinum based chemotherapy.
  • Patients must not have a history of peripheral neuropathy (regardless of cause).
  • Patient must not have a history of Raynaud's disease.
  • Patients with partial or complete limb amputations.
  • Known hypersensitivity to cold
  • Patient cannot be on the following medications: GABA analogues (such as Neurontin, lyrica), tricyclic antidepressants (such as amitriptyline or nortriptyline)
  • As judged by the investigator, severe uncontrolled concurrent medical conditions, psychiatric illness or social condition that would limit compliance with study requirements.
  • Evidence of any significant clinical disorder or laboratory finding that makes it undesirable for the subject to participant in the clinical trial
  • Must not be pregnant or breast feeding

Study Design

Arm Groups

Study Contact


Regulatory Point of Contact
Frances Crawford
(210) 450-5037
crawfordf1@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Sonia Creighton
(210) 450-1366
creighton@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Virginia Kaklamani
(210) 450-3838
kaklamani@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Myrna Montenegro
(210) 450-5954
montenegro@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Mailbox Ctrc Regulatory Affairs
regaffapp@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Regulatory Staff
regaffstaff@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Kathleen Rodriguez
(210) 450-1365
rodriguezk3@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Benjamin Schleif
(210) 450-1366
schleifb@uthscsa.edu

Regulatory Point of Contact
Morgan Seekatz
(210) 450-1133
seekatz@uthscsa.edu

Principal Investigator
Virginia Kaklamani