Lay Description

This is a translational clinical study aiming to develop approaches to process effectively human tissues and identify biomarkers for painful and non-painful chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy (CIPN). This study will involve obtaining two skin biopsies representing affected and non-affected parts of each patient’s limb. Painful and non-painful neuropathies will be determined by a variety of standard approaches implemented by a neurologist Dr. Bhavaraju-Sanka.  


  • Cancers and Other Neoplasms
  • Diagnostic
  • Genetics
  • Breast
IRB Number
NCT Number registration not required
Open to Enrollment


Eligible Ages
18 and over
Eligible Genders
Accepts Healthy Volunteers

Inclusion Criteria

  • Histologically confirmed diagnosis of early-stage breast cancer (stage I-III).
  • Has received adjuvant or neo-adjuvant taxane-based chemotherapy within 10-30 days of consent
  • Age > 18 years. There is no upper age limit for participation in this study.
  • Patients may have received any of the following therapies: surgery, chemotherapy, hormones, biologics, or radiation.
  • Prior chemotherapies for previous cancers are permitted, except with prior treatments with taxane, vinca alkaloids, gemcitabine, Eribulin, ixabepilone)5
  • All patients will have given signed, informed consent prior to registration
  • Patients must have a performance status of ECOG 0 or 1.

Exclusion Criteria

  • Patients must not have a personal history of peripheral neuropathy (regardless of cause) or chronic pain (such as fibromyalgia) prior to receiving taxane chemotherapy
  • Patient must not have a history of diabetes mellitus.
  • Patient must not have a history of Raynaud’s disease.
  • Patients must not be receiving Gabapentin or Pregabalin at time of consent
  • Patients with partial or complete limb amputations.
  • As judged by the investigator, severe uncontrolled concurrent medical conditions, psychiatric illness, or social condition that would limit compliance with study requirements.

Study Design

Arm Groups

Study Contact

Frances Crawford
(210) 450-5037

Sonia Creighton
(210) 450-1366

Leticia De Los Santos
(210) 450-1437

Myrna Montenegro
(210) 450-5954

Courtney Nichols
(210) 450-1794

Mailbox Ctrc Regulatory Affairs

Kathleen Rodriguez
(210) 450-1365

Benjamin Schleif
(210) 450-1366

Morgan Seekatz
(210) 450-1133

Principal Investigator
Virginia Kaklamani